Labrador Highway – Eat My Dust

So, here’s a couple photos I took to show a little of what it’s like when you hit the dirt road section of the Labrador Highway… which is about half of the 564 Km or so of roadway. More is being paved each day though, thank Jesus.

It can get a little scary at times, especially when there is a truck barreling toward you hauling a sand storm behind it. You know that somewhere up ahead in that dust cloud is another vehicle travelling in the same direction as you are, but you don’t know where they are. Did they slow down? Did they have to stop?

When I become engulfed in dust, I usually slow down and pull over as far as I can without driving off the shoulder, but there’s been a time or two where I did have to stop. It’s either that or drive blind. Problem is, sometimes you don’t know if there’s another vehicle behind you, and you don’t know what they’re doing. Have they slowed down or stopped, or are they just flying through the dust with reckless abandon? Thankfully, the majority of the drivers I’ve come across seem fairly responsible and aware. But I’ve also come across my fair share of those who were not.

Anyway, such is life on the Labrador Highway at this point in time.

20120830-143921.jpg

20120830-144107.jpg

20120830-144224.jpg

Something To Say? Leave a Reply

